ATCS 2017

2017 International Workshop on Applications and Techniques in Cyber Security (ATCS)

ATCS 2017 Program

The names and affiliations of the organizers:

  • Prof. Jemal Abawajy, Director, Parallel and Distributed Research Lab, Dakin University, Australia.
  • Dr. Rafiqul Islam, Senior Lecturer, School of Computing and Leader, Cyber security research Group, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
  • Dr. Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA.

Proposed duration of the workshop:

Full day workshop.

A statement of the workshop:

The 5th International Workshop on Applications and Techniques in Cyber Security (ATCS 2017) focuses on all aspects on techniques and applications in cyber security research. The purpose of ATCS 2017 is to provide a forum for presentation and discussion of innovative ideas, cutting edge research results, and novel techniques, methods and applications on all aspects of Cyber Security and Machine Learning.

The accepted papers will be published in the proceedings of IFIP SecureComm 2017 and selected papers will also be considered for inclusion in a Journal Special Issue.

Workshop topic: Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Access control
  • Language-based Security
  • Anti-Virus and Anti-Worms
  • Malicious software
  • Authentication and Authorization
  • Network Security
  • Cloud Security
  • Operating System Security
  • Computer / Digital Forensics
  • Privacy Protection
  • Data and System Integrity
  • Risk Evaluation and Security Certification
  • Database Security
  • Security for Cyber-physical Systems
  • Distributed Systems Security
  • Security for Mobile Computing
  • Electronic Commerce Security
  • Security Models
  • Crypto/Security Systems
  • Security Protocols
  • Information Hiding and Watermarking
  • Smartphone Security
  • Intellectual Property Protection
  • Software Security
  • Intrusion Detection
  • Trusted and Trustworthy Computing
  • Key Management and Key Recovery
  • Algorithms for efficient classification and clustering
  • Forensic computing
  • Smartphone Security
  • Smart grid cyber security
  • Data leakage detection
  • Sensitive data identification and protection

Workshop format:

The workshop intends to attract the cyber security research community around the world. In the inaugural event in 2013, we received 22 papers and accepted six papers. Each paper was reviewed by at least three independent experts (i.e. acceptance rate of 27.27%). Four best papers were published in a special issue of Journal of Networks. In 2014, we receive 32 papers all over the world and accepted 12 papers – the acceptance rate was ~ 37%. In 2015, we receive 24 papers all over the world and accepted 9 papers – the acceptance rate was ~ 37%. In 2016, we receive 31 papers all over the world and accepted 9 papers – the acceptance rate was ~ 29%.

Keynote speaker: We will invite an internationally renowned keynote speaker for this workshop.

Timeline: Our plan to have 2-3 technical sessions and one key-note session.

Proposed dates:

  • Submission Deadline: July 15, 2017
  • Notification of Acceptance: August 15, 2017
  • Camera-ready deadline: September 2, 2017
  • Workshop Date: October 22, 2015

Submission Guidelines

Papers should be submitted through EASYCHAIR at

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers must be clearly presented in English and have to comply with the SPRINGER format (as per Author Kit). Papers will be selected based on their originality, timeliness, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation.

As papers will be blind refereed, submitted papers must be fully anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. The paper must start with a title, an abstract, and keywords.

Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and attend the conference to present the work.

Sponsored By:


General Chairs:

  • Prof. Jemal H. Abawajy, Deakin University, Australia.
  • Dr. Rafiqul Islam, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
  • Dr. Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of South Australia, Australia.

Program Committee Members (proposed):

Prof. Junbin Gao, The University of Sydney, Australia.
Prof. M Alamgir Hossain, Northumbria University, UK.
A/Professor Md Enamul Karim, Louisiana Tech University, USA.
Prof. V. Vijayakumar, VIT University, Chennai, India.
Dr. Faisal Hasan, ITI, University of Illinois, USA.
A/Prof. Tanveer Zia, CSU, Australia.
Maumita Bhattacharya, CSU, Australia.
Dr. Mizanur Rahman, King Saud University, KSA.
Dr. Morshed Chowdhury, Deakin University, Australia
Dr. Mohd Farhan Fudzee, UTHM, Malaysia.
Dr. Zahid Islam, CSU, Australia.
Dr. Syed S Islam, UWA, Australia.
Dr. Andrei Kelarev, Federation University, Australia
Dr. Mohammad Kausar, Ittehad University, KSA
Prof. Dr. Hasannuzzaman, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
Dr. Quazi Mamun, CSU, Australia
Dr. Ben Martini, University of South Australia, Australia
Dr. Sumon Sahriar, CSIRO, Australia.
Dr. Steve Versteeg, CA Labs, Australia
Professor Matthew Warren, Deakin University, Australia
Professor John Yearwood , Federation University, Australia
Dr. Samsul Huda, Deakin University, Australia.
A/Professor Xun Yi, Victoria University, Australia
Dr. Arif Khan, CSU, Australia.
Dr. Nasimul Noman, University of Newcastle, Australia.
Dr. Chowdhury Farhan Ahmed, University of Strasbourg, France.
Dr. Rayan Ko, University of Waikato, New Zealand